UFWDA Community Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 30, 2014, 06:48:41 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Due to spammers, registration via this forum is on hold. Sorry for the inconvenience. 
We are however happy to manually add you, so please email us at forums@ufwda.org
Admin Team
14,036 Posts in 3,242 Topics by 972 Members
Latest Member: Hiltz
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
UFWDA Community Forum  |  Regional Focus - News and Local Events  |  Southwest  |  Topic: CA - URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT - Bill to be Considered on April 16th « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: CA - URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT - Bill to be Considered on April 16th  (Read 578 times)
kf6zpl
Guest
« on: April 13, 2007, 01:35:14 pm »

Details:

Jason Tolleson, jasont@sema.org
SEMA 202/783-6007, ext. 39


URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

California Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Tests for Vehicles 15-Years Old and Older to be Considered on April 16th

Legislation (A.B. 616) introduced in the California Assembly by Assemblyman Dave Jones (Assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov) to require annual Smog check inspections for vehicles 15-years old and older will be considered by the Assembly Transportation Committee on Monday, April 16th. The bill would also require that funds generated through the additional inspection fees be deposited into an account which can be used to scrap older cars.  You may recall that in 2004 a new law was enacted in California to require the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles.  Pre-1976 motor vehicles would remain exempt under A.B. 616.

We Urge You to Contact Assemblyman Jones and members of the Assembly Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Oppose A.B. 616

For those interested in attending the hearing to show their opposition, the committee will meet on Monday, April 16 at the following address and time:

Assembly Transportation Committee Hearing - 1:30 p.m.
Capitol Building – Room 4202 
Sacramento, CA

A.B. 616 ignores the minimal impact vintage cars have on air quality.

A.B. 616 could entice vintage car owners into allowing these vehicles to be scrapped.

A.B. 616 ignores the fact that vehicles 15-years old and older still constitute a small portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.

A.B. 616 ignores the fact that classic vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven.

A.B. 616 would increase costs by creating an annual inspection fee for owners of these vehicles.

A.B. 616 represents another attempt by California legislators and regulators to scapegoat older cars.

A.B. 616 would require vehicles 15 years old and older—presently ’76–’92—that are not currently exempt would move from a biennial test to annual tests with the clear intent of moving them into the scrappage program.
Please contact members of the California Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by phone, fax or e-mail to request their opposition to A.B. 616.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.


Assembly Transportation Committee

Pedro Nava, Chair
Telephone: (916) 319-2035
Fax: (916) 319-2135
Email: Assemblymember.nava@assembly.ca.gov

Michael D. Duvall, Vice-Chair
Telephone: (916) 319-2072
Fax: (916) 319-2172
Email: Assemblymember.Duvall@assembly.ca.gov

Wilma Amina Carter
Telephone: (916) 319-2062
Fax: (916) 319-2162
Email: Assemblymember.Carter@assembly.ca.gov

Mike DeSaulnier
Telephone: (916) 319-2011
Fax: (916) 319-2111
Email: Assemblymember.DeSaulnier@assembly.ca.gov

Cathleen Galgiani
Tel: (916) 319-2017
Fax: (916) 319-2117
Email: Assemblymember.Galgiani@assembly.ca.gov

Martin Garrick
Telephone: (916) 319-2074
Fax: (916) 319-2174
Email: Assemblymember.Garrick@assembly.ca.gov

Shirley Horton
Telephone: (916) 319-2078
Email: Assemblymember.Shirley.Horton@assembly.ca.gov

Guy S. Houston
Telephone: (916) 319-2015
Fax: (916) 319-2115
Email: Assemblymember.Houston@assembly.ca.gov

Bob Huff
Telephone: (916) 319-2060
Fax: (916) 319-2160
Email: assemblymember.huff@assembly.ca.gov

Betty Karnette
Telephone: (916) 319-2054
Email: Assemblymember.Karnette@assembly.ca.gov

Anthony J. Portantino
Telephone: (916) 319-2044
Fax: (916) 319-2144
Email: assemblymember.Portantino@assembly.ca.gov

Ira Ruskin
Telephone: (916) 319 - 2021
Fax: (916) 319 – 2121
Email: Assemblymember.Ruskin@assembly.ca.gov

Jose Solorio
Telephone: (916) 319-2069
Fax: (916) 319-2169

Nell Soto
Telephone: (916) 319-2061
Fax: (916) 319-2161
Email: Assemblymember.Soto@assembly.ca.gov



 

==============================
If you do not want to receive legislative information from SEMA, e-mail listserv@sema.org with the words "remove legislative" in the subject line.

If you do not want to receive any e-mails from SEMA, e-mail listserv@sema.org with the word "remove" in the subject line to be removed from our distribution list. 

Terms under which this service is provided to you: www.sema.org/disclaimer

SEMA's mailing address: 1575 S. Valley Vista Dr., Diamond Bar, CA 91765

 
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
UFWDA Community Forum  |  Regional Focus - News and Local Events  |  Southwest  |  Topic: CA - URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT - Bill to be Considered on April 16th « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!