UFWDA Community Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 28, 2014, 08:15:46 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Due to spammers, registration via this forum is on hold. Sorry for the inconvenience. 
We are however happy to manually add you, so please email us at forums@ufwda.org
Admin Team
14,064 Posts in 3,267 Topics by 973 Members
Latest Member: lizwirgau
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
UFWDA Community Forum  |  Regional Focus - News and Local Events  |  Southwest  |  Topic: SEMA Alert: California Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Testing « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: SEMA Alert: California Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Testing  (Read 457 times)
Todd Ockert
ghost

Offline Offline

Posts: 1,793



WWW
« on: June 18, 2007, 08:10:25 pm »

California Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Tests for Vehicles 15-Years Old and Older Passes Assembly; Moves to Senate

Legislation (A.B. 616) to require annual Smog check inspections for vehicles 15-years old and older has been approved by the California Assembly and has been sent to the Senate for consideration. The bill would also require that funds generated through the additional inspection fees be deposited into an account which can be used to scrap older cars. You may recall that in 2004 a new law was enacted in California to require the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles. Pre-1976 motor vehicles would remain exempt under A.B. 616. The bill has been now referred to the Senate Transportation Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Oppose A.B. 616

A.B. 616 ignores the minimal impact vintage cars have on air quality.

A.B. 616 could entice vintage car owners into allowing these vehicles to be scrapped.

A.B. 616 ignores the fact that vehicles 15-years old and older still constitute a small portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.

A.B. 616 ignores the fact that classic vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven.

A.B. 616 would increase costs by creating an annual inspection fee for owners of these vehicles.

A.B. 616 represents another attempt by California legislators and regulators to scapegoat older cars.
Please contact members of the California Senate Transportation Committee immediately by phone, fax or e-mail to request their opposition to A.B. 616.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.


Senate Transportation Committee

Senator Alan Lowenthal (Chair)
Senator.Lowenthal@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4027

Senator Tom McClintock (Vice Chair)
Senator.McClintock@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4019

Senator Roy Ashburn
Senator.Ashburn@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4018

Senator Gilbert Cedillo
Senator.Cedillo@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4022

Senator Ellen Corbett
Senator.Corbett@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4010

Senator Robert Dutton
Senator.Dutton@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4031

Senator Tom Harman
Senator.Harman@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4035

Senator Christine Kehoe
Senator.Kehoe@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4039

Senator Joe Simitian
Senator.Simitian@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4011

Senator Tom Torlakson
Senator.Torlakson@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4007

Senator Leland Yee
Senator.Yee@senate.ca.gov
(916) 651-4008

Todd
Interim Director of Environmental Affairs
Logged

UFWDA Member #14102
Member of Cal4Wheel, Hanford Trail Busters, Rubicon 4WDA
www.accessarmy.com
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
UFWDA Community Forum  |  Regional Focus - News and Local Events  |  Southwest  |  Topic: SEMA Alert: California Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Testing « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!