Author Topic: Third Call for Nominations for Advisory Committees  (Read 1169 times)

Offline Peter Vahry

  • UFWDA International Vice-President
  • Administrator
  • ghost
  • Posts: 1,476
Third Call for Nominations for Advisory Committees
« on: June 20, 2014, 05:06:30 am »
Third Call for Nominations for Advisory Committees; Montana,
Oregon, and Washington

AGENCY: Bureau of Land Management, Interior.

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: The purpose of this notice is to reopen the request for public
nominations for certain Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Advisory
Committees that have member terms expiring this year. These Advisory
Committees provide advice and recommendations to the BLM on land use
planning and management of the National System of Public Lands within
their respective geographic areas. The

[[Page 35377]]

Advisory Committees covered by this request for nominations are
identified below. The BLM will accept public nominations for 30 days
after the publication of this notice.

DATES: All nominations must be received no later than July 21, 2014.

ADDRESSES: See SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION for the address of respective
BLM Offices accepting nominations.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Lauren Luckey, U.S. Department of the
Interior, Bureau of Land Management, WO-610, Public Affairs Division,
20 M Street SE., 6281, Washington, DC 20003, 202-912-7422.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Federal Land Policy and Management Act
(FLPMA) directs the Secretary of the Interior to involve the public in
planning and issues related to management of lands administered by the
BLM. Section 309 of FLPMA (43 U.S.C. 1739) directs the Secretary to
establish 10- to 15-member citizen-based advisory councils that are
consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). As required
by FACA, Resource Advisory Council (RAC) membership must be balanced
and representative of the various interests concerned with the
management of the public lands. The rules governing RACs are found at
43 CFR subpart 1784 and include the following three membership

    Category One--Holders of Federal grazing permits and
representatives of organizations associated with energy and mineral
development, timber industry, transportation or rights-of-way,
developed outdoor recreation, off-highway vehicle use, and commercial

    Category Two--Representatives of nationally or regionally
recognized environmental organizations, archaeological and historic
organizations, dispersed recreation activities, and wild horse and
burro organizations; and

    Category Three--Representatives of State, county, or local elected
office, employees of a State agency responsible for management of
natural resources, representatives of Indian tribes within or adjacent
to the area for which the council is organized, representatives of
academia who are employed in natural sciences, and the public-at-large.

    Individuals may nominate themselves or others. Nominees must be
residents of the state in which the RAC has jurisdiction. The BLM will
evaluate nominees based on their education, training, experience, and
knowledge of the geographical area of the RAC. Nominees should
demonstrate a commitment to collaborative resource decision-making. The
Obama Administration prohibits individuals who are currently federally
registered lobbyists from being appointed or re-appointed to FACA and
non-FACA boards, committees, or councils.

To read the full notice....
Auckland Four Wheel Drive Club Inc, 4x4 Challenges NZ Inc, NZFWDA life member, Friends of 42 Traverse Inc.