Author Topic: CA - California Considers Taxing “Gas Guzzlers”  (Read 1544 times)


  • Guest
CA - California Considers Taxing “Gas Guzzlers”
« on: March 19, 2007, 06:19:07 pm »
California Considers Taxing “Gas Guzzlers”

In a misguided attempt to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, legislation (A.B. 493) has been introduced in the California Assembly by Assemblyman Ira Ruskin ( to establish a progressive purchase surcharge for some new motor vehicles based on state calculations of carbon emissions.  Depending on the vehicle purchased, this surcharge could require owners to pay up to $2,500 more for the vehicle.  Funds collected under the program would be used in part to fund discounts for hybrids and electric cars.  If this effort is successful, the effects on your ability to purchase the vehicle of your choice, not to mention vehicle safety, will be dramatic.

We Urge You to Contact the Assembly Transportation Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Req! uest Their Opposition to A.B. 493

H.B 493 will limit consumer choice in purchasing vehicles by making popular performance and luxury cars, as well as SUVs, light trucks and minivans, substantially more expensive to own.

H.B. 493 will potentially lead to more deaths on California’s highways as higher taxes on larger, safer vehicles forces consumers into smaller cars with higher accident fatality rates.

H.B. 493 will not conserve energy.  Greenhouse gas emissions depends on a host of other factors such as total miles traveled.

H.B. 493 will do little to improve air quality.  Air quality has more to do with overall basic vehicle maintenance than it does with owning and operating any particular class of vehicle.
DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the California Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to this bill.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to  Thank you for your assistance.

Assembly Transportation Committee

Pedro Nava, Chair
Telephone: (916) 319-2035
Fax: (916) 319-2135

Michael D. Duvall, Vice-Chair
Telephone: (916) 319-2072
Fax: (916) 319-2172

Wilma Amina Carter
Telephone: (916) 319-2062
Fax: (916) 319-2162

Mike DeSaulnier
Telephone: (916) 319-2011
Fax: (916) 319-2111

Cathleen Galgiani
Tel: (916) 319-2017
Fax: (916) 319-2117

Martin Garrick
Telephone: (916) 319-2074
Fax: (916) 319-2174

Shirley Horton
Telephone: (916) 319-2078

Guy S. Houston
Telephone: (916) 319-2015
Fax: (916) 319-2115

Bob Huff
Telephone: (916) 319-2060
Fax: (916) 319-2160

Betty Karnette
Telephone: (916) 319-2054

Anthony J. Portantino
Telephone: (916) 319-2044
Fax: (916) 319-2144

Ira Ruskin
Telephone: (916) 319 - 2021
Fax: (916) 319 – 2121

Jose Solorio
Telephone: (916) 319-2069
Fax: (916) 319-2169

Nell Soto
Telephone: (916) 319-2061
Fax: (916) 319-2161